Vacation

One day I had a brilliant idea. Lets go camping! Camping, my family ask? Yes camping with no cell phones, mobile devices or Kindle fires. My family looked at me as if I were speaking a foreign language.My wife received the wrong memo. I laid the ground rules down with no electronics. My wife takes the kids to the grocery store to purchase food for our camping trip. My wife grabs a lot of snacks. Meanwhile I take my son to a official camping store to purchase camping supplies. Tent, sleeping bags, pot and pans ect. The guy at the store ask if we need any instructions to how to put the tent together. My stubborn self politely says no thank you. I mean a tent can’t be that hard to put up. Ohh how I was wrong.I realized once in the wilderness, I had no google search no mobile devices. No smart phones or internet to help us. Now we had to rely on being “unplugged”. We had to figure everything out the old fashion way.It took me ALL daylight to get that tent up. I should have taken the guys advise when he wanted to show me how to properly put the tent up. This trip without technology able me to connect with the children by entertaining them in other ways. We told stories by the camp fire. We swam in the lake. We had all types of fun and my kids didn’t even miss or realize they were on a “unplugged vacation”. You can have fun without technology.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xi-N4KApb1Y

 

 

 

We had no video games so I secretly purchased a ugly bear custom and had my friend wear it for hours. My friend played along with this fun joke. I waited until it was really dark. We told scary stories around the camp fire. I was telling a story about a mean bear when we heard a noise come from the darkness. I rounded the boys up and told them we need to investigate these sounds. My kids grabbed flashlights and we were off to find out what was making these strange sounds, We walked 50 steps from the camp fire when all of a sudden a huge roar emerges. If you could have seen these kids faces when they say my friend in the bear custom. They took off running in the opposite direction toward the van. My son was first onto the van leaving his sisters and mother behind him!
I think this fun event took the place of video games. According to the book 22.5% of american house holds spend 8 hours per day on the internet social networks and blogs. 9.8% spend there time on line gaming. 7.6% checking e-mails. 4.4% Videos/movies and 4.0 on search engines.
I have learned that social networking sites have become the biggest,most relevant sites on the internet today. Their impact is felt everywhere from Wall Street to all corners of the world. Facebook has over one billion and growing users. Social media impacts individuals, politics, business/brands, education, and healthcare.

Leave a Reply

